Six English Towns: The Complete Collection

Architectural historian Alec Clifton-Taylor OBE presents all three series of the popular documentary programmes, which ran between 1977-1984 on BBC Two. Now over 40 years on, the series now serves as
a fascinating historical snapshot of the enduring character of each town over many centuries.

Cat. No: 188006
Barcode: 5019322880066
Run Time: 540 mins
Discs: 4
Cert: E
Format: DVD
Release Date: 5th November 2018

Buy Now
Trade Enquiry


Guiding viewers through ‘the pattern of English building’, Clifton-Taylor examines each town’s grand public buildings, manor houses and family homes, examining how each town evolved in harmony with the local landscape with an appropriate choice of natural building materials.

The first series, first broadcast in 1977, sees him visit Chichester (West Sussex), Richmond (Yorkshire), Tewkesbury (Gloucestershire), Stamford (Lincolnshire), Totnes (Devon) and Ludlow (Shropshire).

In the second series, first broadcast in 1981, Clifton-Taylor takes in Warwick (Warwickshire), Berwick-upon-Tweed (Northumberland), Saffron Walden (Essex), Lewes (East Sussex), Bradford-on-Avon (Wiltshire) and Beverley (East Riding).

In the final series, first broadcast in 1984, he visits Cirencester (Gloucestershire), Whitby (North Yorkshire), Bury St Edmunds (Suffolk), Devizes (Devon), Sandwich (Kent) and Durham (North East).

• DVD commentary on one episode from each series with the producer of the first two series Denis Moriarty, and Paul Croston, a knowledgeable archivist and enthusiast of Alec Clifton-Taylor’s work.
• Episodes featuring commentary are: Chichester (Series One), Saffron Walden (Series Two) and Cirencester (Series Three).
• In Search of the Spirit of the Age – A 25-minute documentary first shown in 1976 on BBC Two. John Julius Norwich discusses with Alec Clifton-Taylor ways in which landscape and architecture have become more accessible, and the recommended ways to enjoy them in Clifton-Taylor’s first appearance for the BBC.

Separate series of Six English Towns are also available below

Six English Towns

Another Six English Towns

Six More English Towns