Dr Finlay’s Casebook: Collector’s Edition

The classic medical drama series that became a TV & radio sensation!
Based on A. J. Cronin’s novella, Country Doctor, the much-loved series on a general medical practice in the fictional Scottish town of Tannochbrae during the late 1920s. This BBC hit became one of the most popular programmes of the 1960s.

Cat. No: 167490
Barcode: 5019322674900
Run Time: 3240 mins
Discs: 21
Cert: 12
Format: DVD
Release Date: 15th October 2018

Buy Now
Trade Enquiry

Categories: , , Tags: ,


The show’s success was down to the compelling storylines, well-defined and appealing characters and excellent casting. The youthful and forward-looking Dr. Alan Finlay is played by the dashing Bill Simpson, while his senior medical partner, the traditional but highly pragmatic Dr. Angus Cameron, is portrayed by the veteran actor Andrew Cruickshank. Barbara Mullen stars as their unflappable and devoted housekeeper, Janet MacPherson.

First broadcast on the BBC in 1962 the drama became a household favourite until its final series in 1971. From 1970 to 1978 episodes from the series were broadcast on BBC Radio 4, with many of the original actors resurrecting their roles. The drama’s gentle and reassuring outlook on life greatly influenced later TV medical dramas, from All Creatures Great and Small to Doc Martin.

Dr. Finlay’s Casebook and the irrepressible residents of Tannochbrae have become so well-loved that there is even a Bill Simpson Fan Club. The famous theme tune was Trevor Duncan’s march from A Little Suite, which Time Out magazine has cited as ‘one of the best TV theme tunes ever’!

This limited edition collection contains 65 surviving episodes from across all eight series. Many of the episodes from the show’s complete run of 191 episodes are believed to no longer exist also contains eight postcards and a 10 page booklet.

For separate series of Dr Finlay’s Casebook please see below:

Dr. Finlay’s Casebook Series 1 
Dr. Finlay’s Casebook Series 2 
Dr. Finlay’s Casebook Series 3 and 4
Dr. Finlay’s Casebook Series 5,6 and 7 
Dr Finlay’s Casebook Series 8
Dr. Finlay’s Casebook Lost Episode: A Questionable Practice