Six More English Towns

Architectural historian Alec Clifton-Taylor OBE presents a potted history and architectural study of six more picturesque English towns. As he continues to outline an ever-shifting ‘pattern of English building’, Clifton-Taylor guides viewers around grand public buildings, manor houses and family homes, examining how each town evolved in harmony with the local landscape with an appropriate choice of natural building materials.

Cat. No: 166467
Barcode: 5019322664673
Run Time: 180 mins
Discs: 1
Cert: E
Format: DVD
Release Date: 7th November 2016

Buy Now
Trade Enquiry


The amiable and erudite host ventures out in all weathers to marvel at treasures of conservation while pausing to criticise past missteps in restoration and damage caused by expansion during the Industrial Revolution and the unsightly developments of the mid-20th century. He also wryly plots the sometimes successful but more commonly failed compromises between medieval planning and modern traffic needs.

In the second series, first broadcast on BBC Two in 1981, he takes in Warwick, Berwickupon- Tweed, Saffron Walden, Lewes, Bradford on Avon and Beverley.

Thirty-five years on, the series now serves as a fascinating historical snapshot of the enduring character of each town over many centuries.

Separate series of Six English Towns are also available below

Six English Towns

Another Six English Towns