Six English Towns

A charming and informative foray into the history and architecture of the picturesque market towns of middle England. Architectural historian Alec Clifton-Taylor OBE presents a potted history and architectural study of six small English towns of great character.

Cat. No: 166445
Barcode: 5019322664451
Run Time: 180 mins
Discs: 1
Cert: E
Format: DVD
Release Date: 12th September 2016

Buy Now
Trade Enquiry


Guiding viewers through ‘the pattern of English building’, Clifton-Taylor examines the differing use of local materials in each town’s grand public buildings, manor houses and modest homes, and plots the evolution of each settlement in relation to its landscape.

Erudite, agreeable and accessible, Clifton-Taylor’s passion for his subject is also displayed in forthright criticism for modern developments that threaten the identity of a community. A champion of pedestrianisation and despiser of multi-storey car parks, he makes a convincing case for the conservation of our traditional living and working spaces.

In this first series he visits Chichester in West Sussex, Richmond (Yorkshire), Tewkesbury (Gloucestershire), Stamford (Lincolnshire), Totnes (Devon) and Ludlow (Shropshire).

First broadcast on the BBC Two in 1978, the programmes now serve as a fascinating historical snapshot of the enduring character of each locale.

Separate series of Six English Towns are also available below

Another Six English Towns

Six More English Towns