Happy Ever After

The Complete Collection

The pilot, all five series and three special episodes of the classic BBC sitcom, the precursor to Terry and June. Relive the exploits of TV’s happiest hapless couple from the beginnings of their perennial partnership.

Cat. No: 166438
Barcode: 5019322664383
Run Time: 1230 mins
Discs: 7
Cert: 12
Format: DVD
Release Date: 26th September 2016

Buy Now
Trade Enquiry

Categories: , , Tag:


Terry and June Fletcher (Terry Scott and June Whitfield) are a middleaged, middle-class couple in middle England whose children recently left home.

Their path to domestic bliss is interrupted by the permanent arrival of scatty Aunt Lucy (Beryl Cooke) and her chatterbox mynah bird Gunga Din. Any lingering notion of a quiet life is speared by Terry’s boyish enthusiasm for hobbies and schemes that invariably bring chaos and calamity in their wake. Luckily June – most days – has the patience of a saint.

Running from 1974 to 1979 across 41 episodes and specials, essentially the same characters (minus Lucy and bird) would be transposed to the even longer-running Terry and June (1979 to 1987). This original series, by a team of writers headed by Eric Merriman and John Chapman, is considered by fans to be superior in scope and wit.