Series 1-3 The Remaining Episodes

Groundbreaking Science-Fact series Doomwatch is a BBC thriller exploring the real scientific dangers lurking behind some of our greatest fears.

Cat. No: 164480
Barcode: 5019322644804
Run Time: 1030 mins
Discs: 7
Cert: 15
Format: DVD
Release Date: 4th April 2016

Buy Now
Trade Enquiry

Categories: , , , Tag:


Led by the gruff but incorruptible Doctor Spencer Quist (John Paul), the Doomwatch team struggle tirelessly to protect the people and planet from the never ending threat of science gone wrong. Quist is assisted by Doctor John Ridge (Simon Oates), a chemist and notorious ladies man with a decidedly shady past, and series heartthrob Tobias Wren (Robert Powell, Jesus of Nazareth), a conscientious researcher who is deeply committed to his job.

Over three dynamite series the team deal with genetic engineering, chemical waste, nuclear rockets, pollution, wildlife culls, terrorist plots and industrial sabotage, to name just a few. The appeal of the show lay in its commitment to exposing real scientific threats. An episode concerning the use of hormones in fish farming even sparked debate in Westminster!

Created by Gerry Davies and Kit Pedler of Doctor Who fame, Doomwatch’s 13 million-strong audience was unprecedented for its Monday night slot – and with today’s anxiety over climate change, the issues are as frighteningly relevant as ever.

Including the BBC documentary The Cult of Doomwatch, detailing its history, its making and its immense popularity as well as the previously un-transmitted Series 3, episode 12: Sex and Violence.

Episode List:
Disc 1
Series 1, Episode 1 – The Plastic Eaters, Series 1, Episode 4 – Tomorrow The Rat. Series 1, Episode 5 – Project Sahara, Series 1, Episode 6 – Re-Entry Forbidden
Disc 2
Series 1, Episode 7 – The Devil’s Sweets, Series 1, Episode 8 – The Red Sky, Series 1, Episode 10 – Train and De-Train, Series 1, Episode 11 – The Battery People
Disc 3
Series 2, Episode 1 – You Killed Toby Wren, Series 2, Episode 2 – Invasion, Series 2, Episode 3 – The Islanders, Series 2, Episode 4 – No Room for Error
Disc 4
Series 2, Episode 5 – By The Pricking Of My Thumbs, Series 2, Episode 6 – The Iron Doctor, Series 2, Episode 7 – Flight Into Yesterday
Disc 5
Series 2, Episode 8 – The Web Of Fear, Series 2, Episode 9 – In The Dark, Series 2, Episode10 – The Human Time Bomb
Disc 6
Series 2, Episode 11 – The Inquest, Series 2, Episode 12 – The Logicians, Series 2, Episode 13 – Public Enemy
Disc 7
Series 3, Episode 4 – Waiting For A Knighthood, Series 3, Episode 6 – Hair Trigger, Series 3, Episode 12 – Sex And Violence (Never Transmitted), Extra – The Cult Of Doomwatch (documentary)