Dr Finlay’s Casebook: Series 2

The classic medical drama series that became a TV sensation! Based on A. J. Cronin’s novella, Country Doctor, the series centres on a general medical practice in the fictional Scottish town of Tannochbrae during the late 1920s.

Cat. No: 135017
Barcode: 5019322350170
Run Time: 500 mins
Discs: 4
Cert: PG
Format: DVD
Release Date: 21st April 2014

Buy Now
Trade Enquiry

Categories: , , Tags: ,


Set during the 1920s, this series sees Bill Simpson returning as the adventurous and forward-thinking Dr Finlay, now firmly established in the community, working alongside the orthodox Dr Cameron (Finlay’s senior partner in their practice), played by Andrew Cruickshank. Janet, their unflappable housekeeper, played by Barbara Mullen, is courted by the irascible Dr Snoddie, played by Eric Woodburn, who disparages Finlay’s modern methods at every opportunity he gets.

First broadcast in 1962 Dr Finlay’s Casebook became a cult sensation by 1965. The famous theme tune was Trevor Duncan’s march from A Little Suite, which Time Out Magazine has cited as ‘one of the best TV theme tunes ever’!

Series 2:

10 Surviving Episodes.

For other series of Dr Finlay’s Casebook please see below:

Dr. Finlay’s Casebook Series 1 
Dr. Finlay’s Casebook Series 3 and 4
Dr. Finlay’s Casebook Series 5,6 and 7 
Dr Finlay’s Casebook Series 8
Dr. Finlay’s Casebook Lost Episode: A Questionable Practice 

Dr Finlay’s Casebook Complete Collection: Collector’s Edition